Super Super Easy Chicken Tortilla Soup

I absolutely love tortilla soup.  It is what I order most often when we go to a Mexican food restaurant.  Some of them get it right, and others not so much.  I have tried many recipes but get turned off by the preparation work and time.  So I was most excited, when a friend gave me this easy recipe.  I feel like it is cheating a little bit, but it is sooo good that well I really don’t care that I use packaged salsa.  (SHHHHH)  

Prepare your chicken by either boiling or roasting and cut up the chicken pieces. I usually use the whole chicken.  

Super Easy Tortilla Soup

– cut chicken pieces

-corn – either frozen or cut off the cob

– container of  “good” chunky salsa

–  5 cups of  homemade chicken broth

– 1 onion, garlic, cumin and coriander

– cilantro, avocado, jack cheese, and fried tortilla strips (the best part)

DIRECTIONS:
Saute onion and garlic.  Add some cumin and coriander, salt and pepper.   Add chicken broth.  Bring to a slow boil.  Add the corn,  salsa and chicken. 

While the soup simmers, fry the  corn tortilla strips in oil ( I usually use coconut  or olive), cube the cheese and avocado.

SOOOOO easy…. Enjoy the soup with all the garnishes…

Leave a Reply

