D.I.Y. REAL GRANOLA

Make your own healthy raw granola bars without additives and  (refined) sugar.  Before I became a fan of Nourishing Traditions, I was a big fan of granola, thinking it was healthy food.  However it is not what it is cracked up to be because of how it is made through the  extrusion process and the  heating of most traditional granola.

I had to think of something else to nibble on and I found this great recipe in a little book (let.)   The recipe was adapted from Kristen Suzannes’s easy RAW Vegan- DEHYDRATING book.   She does a good job presenting the information in a clear and concise manner.

I started with her recipe and then add and subtract different ingredients.  I also dehydrate for different times for bars or bites.  I make these granola bars/bits about every 3 weeks. I think dehydrating is so cool because it is always (most times) an adventurous edible experience.

I start with soaking my nuts from 6-8 hours.  I usually do them together and then rinse them off with filtered water. I often do the flax seeds separate so to maintain their gel.  I know there are stricter views on the soaking times, but with all my cross referencing there is a large margin of time to soak from overnight to 2 to 4 hours.

INGREDIENTS:

pecans, walnuts, pumpkin seeds, chia seeds, sunflower seeds and sesame seeds- soaked and rinsed

flax seeds – soaked

hemp seeds, goji berries, raisins, coconut, cacao nibs, cranberries (these ingredients fluctuate)

dates- soaked

water, vanilla,himilayan  salt, cinnamon bark or ground- the bark gives it a unique flavor

  1. blend dates/water, salt, cinnamon, vanilla
  2. add to the nut blend
  3. mix well with hands (clean)
  4. spread on paraflex sheets and this is where experimentation comes in.  I usually set it for 125 degrees anywhere from 8 hours (softer) up to over 24 hours (harder.)  It is up to you.
  5. you can all score them into bars or bits, usually around 4 hours. I have always wondered about doing cookie cutters, but haven’t done it yet. I have tried it both too early ( soft) and too late (hard.)

IMG_1204

I bet some crafty mom has.  Let me know if you have seen shaped granola bars.  That could be a golden marketing idea for kids.   Up above is the granola getting ready for the dehydrator and below is the finished product in fabulous triangle bite sizes…
Posted as part of REAL FOOD WEDNESDAYS hosted by Kelly the Kitchen Kop and Cheeseslave.
IMG_1262

2 Responses to “D.I.Y. REAL GRANOLA”


  1. 1 emily October 1, 2009 at 3:42 am

    sounds tastyand i love that it’s grain-free!

  2. 2 groovygreenmama October 1, 2009 at 10:10 pm

    thanks… I started making it to be “GAPS legal” to help heal my gut. I also checked out your blog- I liked it!


Leave a Reply

