REAL FOOD Road Tripping

When one is dealing with an illness, going on the road does not seem like a good idea.  Truth be told, it is not.  I was on the road for a month, and now I am feeling the consequences.  I would not change my decision for our family of five to be on the road, for we had a most wonderful incredible time.  However, the lack of routine did take its toll.  It is going to be a challenge to find a balance of what makes me happy (traveling with my family) and what is best for my health.  I am relatively young and healthy which allows me a bit more flexibility to bounce back, but I want to be strong and not at all feel compromised.  

I think the answer is FREEZING  and DRYING real food.  Here are some ideas:

DRYING WITH A DEHYDRATOR

  •  NUTS:  soak nuts in salted water for 4-8 hours and then dry for 24-48 hours in a dehydrator
  • FRUIT:  slice in season fruit and dehyrdate until you like the hardness
  • JERKY:  have your butcher slice up flank steak, marinate, and then dehydrate  
  • KALE CHIPS:  take kale leaves off stalk and marinate in a tahini, acv, salt, nama shoyu, water, blend and dehydrate
  • FLAX CRACKERS:  soak flax seeds for four hours, and then put half in a blender with a tub of salsa and possibly some extra garlic, celery stalk.  Blend and lay out and dehydrate.
  • GLUTEN FREE RAW GRANOLA:  soak nuts for 4-8 hours, such as pecans, walnuts, sunflower seeds, chia seeds, seasame seeds, pumpkin seeds, (use all or few) and then add to blended dates and water (w/o seeds, i learned the hard way). Mix with you hands and spread on sheets and dehyrate for at least 30 hours.  I also sometimes add ground cinammon, vanilla to the date mixture

Most of these quickie recipes are for people familiar with a dehydrator.  If you need more instruction just email me, and I will give you specifics.  As for freezing I did about five batches of soup.  Yes, that did take me some time, but it was such a great feeling to have an easy, ready, home cooked meal when we were camping or in a rented kitchenette on our road trip. Use some of your favorite soup recipes to bring on the road.   Here are some of my abridged quickie soup recipes ideal for freezing:

note: you can also use these soups as bases and add on the road.  You could also add the creme optionally or on the road. I just do it for good fats!!

SOUPS IDEAL FOR FREEZING

#1 My Tomato Basil

saute onions, sliced carrots, ( I sometimes add sliced beets too) and garlic in butter

add two 15 oz. cans of Muir Organic diced tomatoes

simmer and add chopped basil (here, I sometimes add spinach as well)…simmer

blend in a blender ( remember heat expands!)

return to pot and add creme fraiche!

s&p to taste

place in mason jars, NOT TO THE TOP,  and freeze


#2.- Potato Leek

Saute 2 shallots with 4 leeks in some butter

add homemade chicken broth

add potatoes

simmer until potatoes are cooked

BLEND

add creme fraiche

s&p to taste

Put in mason jars…


# 3 – Simple Lentil Soup (or split pea)

Cook bacon (2-4 pieces) in large soup pot

saute diced onions/carrots/ and celery in bacon grease

add homemade chicken broth and soaked lentils (just split pea)

simmer for a few hours

add a can/fresh diced tomatoes

add tablespoon of Apple Cider Vinegar

s&p to taste

Put in mason jars…

The above recipes are my stand -bys.  These are made often… with love.  

Hope you give one or some a try and let me know how they turn out.  

p.s.- don’t forget the beauty of the hard boiled egg!!!!





Leave a Reply

