beet love

 It was wrapped up in a funky hippie skirt, the kind with little prayer bells on it, that he had picked up at a garage  sale. As I unwrapped the skirt I was taken aback by  one of the most romantic things my husband has ever given to me.  It was a large, deep reddish beet, yes a beet!   The beet held significance because it was that summer ( the summer we worked in Alaska) that we both read, Jitterbug Perfume by Tom Robbins.  We both fell in love with each other on a different level and believed it was the book that fueled our passion.  Hence the beet…

I have to admit I never ate that beet; I just let it sit on the kitchen table as a centerpiece and reminder of my love. I have never been fond of beets, and when they appeared in my CSA box I would always look at them and smile as I gave them away to beet loving friends.

The time has come for me to discover my true beet love.  I have been dealing with quite a few health issues, will be discussed in later posts, and one thing I need to do is strengthen my blood.  I have found that healing nutritionally is working well for me and I researched a recipe for beet kvass, a blood tonic.  The recipe can be found in one of my most favorite cook/nutrition books, Nourishing Traditions by Sally Fallon. I absolutely  love this book.  I have had it for a few years and am only now  making my first batch of beet kvass. I will let you know how it turns out and post the recipe.  It is currently fermenting on my counter.  yummy??

0 Responses to “beet love”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

